Avion networks president joins TIA board 2017

TIA Announces 2017 Officers and New Board Members

New & Re-Appointed Boards Members Include Leaders from Dell, iconectiv, Microsoft, Viavi and More 

Arlington, VA (January 26, 2017) – The Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA), the leading association representing the manufacturers and suppliers of high-tech communications networks, today announced the executives who are serving as officers on the 2017 Board of Directors, along with nine new and re-appointed board members.

In late 2016, David Heard assumed the role of board chair and was also named interim CEO of TIA. Heard is a telecommunications industry veteran who has served as TIA’s Board of Directors first vice-chair for the past two years. Joining him as newly-elected board officers are Mike Marcellin, Juniper Networks (NYSE: JNPR) Chief Marketing Officer, and Glenn Laxdal, Ericsson’s (NYSE: ERIC) Chief Technology Officer and Head of Strategy for North America. Marcellin and Laxdal will serve as first and second vice-chairs, respectively.

“This is an unprecedented time of technological progress and policy change, so TIA must have an experienced team of industry leaders,” Heard said. “The 2017 board is comprised of an impressive group of forward-thinking executives who bring a great diversity of backgrounds.”

Heard continued, “This group has embraced the need for TIA to invest in ways that truly deliver on our members’ technology, policy and business needs. This is especially important as the development of next generation networks, the Internet of Things and wireless connectivity opens incredible new opportunities in healthcare, energy, transportation, smart cities and more. Some of the world’s leading brands, from Silicon Valley innovators to Midwest manufactures, have joined with TIA because they recognize the increasingly vital role of the network in nearly every aspect of the modern economy.”

“Our industry stretches to every corner of the country, and is delivering high-paying jobs and significant economic opportunity,” Heard said. “Through strategic investments and changes that better align the organization with member needs, we will do even more to drive innovation, jobs, and economic expansion. This is an exciting time, and the TIA board is completely focused on execution as we head into our next chapter.”

Mark Walker of Walker and Associates, who served as Chairman of the Board for two years, is now serving as Chairman Emeritus, while Betty Manetta, President & CEO of Asociar LLC, will serve as Secretary and Jennifer Pentecost Sims, CEO of Power & Telephone Supply Co., will continue as Treasurer.

TIA announced the following executives as new or re-appointed members of the Board of Directors for 2017. TIA’s full board is made up of 30 members – a complete list is available here.

Chris Drake
iconectiv; Executive Vice President, Chief Technology Officer

Amy Marasco
Microsoft Corporation; General Manager for Standards Strategy

Dr. Dennis Martinez
Harris Corporation; Chief Technology Officer

Doug Moore
Fujitsu Network Communications, Inc.; Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

Victoria Obenshain
Panasonic Corporation of North America; Vice President, Business Development, PSCNA

Kanchana Raman
Avion Networks, Inc.; President

Christine Rapala
Motorola Solutions; Vice President Integrated Command and Control Solutions

Kevin Shatzkamer
Dell EMC; Vice President, Service Provider Solutions and Strategy

Dr. Sameh Yamany, Ph.D.
Viavi Solutions; Chief Technology Officer

About TIA
TIA’s mission is to advance global connectivity and accelerate business growth by convening the entire supply chain of communications – more than 250 companies including the service providers, manufacturers and suppliers, software developers, distributors and integrators, consultants and educators– that build and support the communications and information networks of today and tomorrow. TIA is also accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). For more information, visit TIAonline.org.###